+39 339 659 6105 info@hepbcppa.org

About Us

About Us

Hepatitis B and C Public Policy Association asbl

In April 2009 a group of leading European scientists, professors, public health experts and patient advocates created the Hepatitis B and C Summit Conferences Association as a Luxembourg-based not-for-profit Association (association sans but lucratif). The Association aimed primarily to deliver a summit conference on Hepatitis B and C in Europe, which was held in Brussels in October 2010 under the auspices of the Belgian EU Presidency.

The Association acknowledges with grateful thanks the support of the European Association for the Study of the Liver (EASL), the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC), the European Commission’s Directorate-General for Health and Consumers (DG SANCO), the European Monitoring Centre for Drugs and Drug Addiction (EMDCCA), the European Liver Patients Association (ELPA), the Viral Hepatitis Prevention Board (VHPB), the World Health Organisation – Europe (WHO-Europe) and the World Hepatitis Alliance (WHA) in its past activity.

The Association’s work in the field of viral hepatitis B and C will continue to be developed in collaboration with these stakeholders.

In June 2011 the Association’s name was changed to Hepatitis B and C Public Policy Association to reflect the broader, continuing activities of the Association (see Activities).

Financial contributions received in support of the Association’s activities are made directly to the Association’s Luxembourg bank account, and are disbursed at the discretion of its Directors. The auditors to the Association are Grant Thornton Lux Audit S.A., 83 Pafebruch, L-9308 Capellen, Luxembourg.

The Directors and members of the Association ensure and uphold its independence from its sponsors and other external partners.

Meet The Directors & Members of the Association


Prof. Angelos Hatzakis

Professor of Epidemiology and Preventive Medicine Head, National Retrovirus Reference Centre Director, Department of Hygiene, Epidemiology & Medical Statistics Athens University Medical School, Greece


Prof. Michael Manns

Director, Department of Gastroenterology, Hepatology, and Endocrinology, Hannover Medical School, Hannover, Germany


Prof. Howard Thomas

Professor Emeritus, Hepatology and Gastroenterology, Imperial College, London, UK.

Charles Gore

President, World Hepatitis Alliance, Geneva Chief Executive, The Hepatitis C Trust, London, UK.



Prof. Rafael Esteban

Liver Unit, Department of Internal Medicine, Vall d’Hebron University Hospital, Barcelona, Spain.



Prof. Maria Buti

Liver Unit, Department of Internal Medicine, Vall d’Hebron University Hospital, Barcelona, Spain

Dr. Manuel Carballo

Executive Director, International Centre for Migration and Health (ICMH), Geneva, Switzerland


Prof. Massimo Colombo

Chairman, 1st Division of Gastroenterology Fondazione IRCCS Maggiore Hospital Policlinico, Mangiagalli e Regina Elena University of Milan, Italy


Prof. Antonio Craxi

Director, Gastroenterology and Internal Medicine University of Palermo, Italy


Prof. Gamal Esmat

Director, Viral Hepatitis Treatment Centers. Ministry of Health. Egypt Vice President, Graduate Studies and Research, Cairo University. Professor, Tropical Medicine and Hepatology, Cairo University Medical School, Egypt

Dr. David Goldberg

Health Protection Scotland Centre for Virus Research Glasgow, Scotland

Prof. Harry Janssen

Head, UHN Liver Clinic, Toronto Western Hospital, Canada


Achim Kautz

Vice President, European Liver Patients Association (ELPA), Brussels, Belgium


Prof. Patrick Marcellin

Service d’Hépatologie, Hôpital Beaujon, APHP University of Paris, France


Prof. Philippe Mathurin

Services des Maladies de l’appareil digestif, Hôpital Claude Huriez, CHRU Lille; Inserm U 795; Univ Lille 2 France

Prof. George Papatheodoridis

Athens University Medical School Hippokration General Hospital, Athens, Greece


Prof. Markus Peck-Radosavljevic

Department of Gastroenterology and Hepatology, Medical University Vienna, Austria.


Prof. Mark Thursz

Professor of Hepatology Imperial College, London, UK


Prof. Nurdan Tozun

Vice Rector, Acibadem University Acibadem Kozyatagi Hospital Dept of Gastroenterology Istanbul, Turkey.

Prof. Pierre van Damme

Viral Hepatitis Prevention Board (VHPB) Vaccine and Infectious Disease Institute, Antwerp, Belgium


Prof. Heiner Wedemeyer

Research Group Leader, Department of Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Endocrinology Hannover Medical School, Germany.


Affiliated Members

Nikos Dedes

President, Association of People Living with HIV in Greece ‘Positive Voice’ Greece.